The Humanitarian Experience: The Agony of the Unknown Future

UPDATE NOTE: The same day that I finished writing this post (this past Monday 4/16/2012), I was rushed to the hospital where I would undergo an appendectomy. Once you read the post below you will find the irony. I am now recovering – Razz

Dont let the life you lead be BLAND - Hospital food

Don't let the life you lead be BLAND - Hospital food experience

For the past few weeks, my family has been experiencing the stressful and agonizing event of having a loved one in the hospital.

My cousin, who is in the prime of her life, unexpectedly had an aneurysm in her pre-frontal cortex. Over the last two weeks she has had multiple surgeries and procedures performed in an attempt to restore her damaged brain and body.  The brilliant minds continue to work to save her and figure out why this beautiful young woman and otherwise completely healthy person would have her most vital organ suddenly fail.  Her friends and family stand around the bed, watching in complete disbelief that this is the present. And yet despite the unwavered attempts of the brilliant, her body is continuing to fail.

One thing that has made an impact on me, is that she is in her 30’s with an 18-year-old son. She should have decades ahead of her filled with experiences, love and life. And yet today she hangs onto life with the help of a respirator and machine that is pumping her blood for her. I want so badly to see her stand tall, with her model like figure, amazing smile, sweet eyes and gorgeous hair, but for now I wait.

I know that she is not ready yet, not many of us are. When she is occasionally conscious she expresses herself as a human with the will to live, not one ready to leave the earthly consciousness.

In faith I am praying for a miracle, strength and hope, while completely understanding the risks at hand.

As you know I write about the amazing things that I have seen people do with disregard for their personal gain. The humanitarian lifestyle. Even in this on-going event I find a humanitarian. I will call her Nancy. Nancy is a friend/employer of my cousin, who through her life’s work is connected with the people who are the top of the field of medicine. She has basically given my cousin a fighting chance. She immediately demanded and provided the means for my cousin to be sent to one of the most prestigious learning hospitals in the U.S. It is there is where the brilliant minds do what they do best. The fact that Nancy would do this, leads me to understand that my cousin has made such a positive impact on the life another, that this demand for the best is the act of gratitude. Thank you Nancy.

My cousin is also the humanitarian in this story. For years she has volunteered her time and energy in the future of the youth. Over the years she has given her time to encourage and facilitate the dreams of young athletes in her area. I know that she has touched the lives of many young adults who have benefited from her volunteerism. Just a few days ago, a family who she has cultivated a relationship with from her active role in their son’s boxing career showed up at the hospital. They drove over 3 hours to see her and just be with her.

As I contemplate the fragility of life, the lack of control and the will of man, I have begun to wonder, should my life be cut short of my “plans” would I be satisfied with my contribution to this world, this experience?

If your life was to come to a sudden halt and the plans forever out of reach, which actions and accomplishments would you be most grateful that you have accomplished? Leave out the regrets and tell me what you are grateful for thus far.

Our lives cannot be mapped or charted until we have lived them. This is the Agony of the Unknown future.

9 thoughts on “The Humanitarian Experience: The Agony of the Unknown Future

  1. I am grateful for having lived a genuine life that followed my passions, that I have been a good person to most everyone I’ve met (I’m sure I’ve crossed a few), that I have loved a lot but married the best, that I’ve born two beautiful incredible human beings, and that I would leave behind meaning and inspiration in all that I’ve touched. Thank you for a reminder of just how fragile and at once powerful we all are.

  2. your posts remind us that the world still is a great place-where people stand up for each other,help out each other..
    My prayers are with your cousin,here’s hoping a speedy recovery..

  3. Thank you for a very thought provoking post! I am grateful for the opportunity to be me, to be able to live life on my terms in a country where that is not always possible! Hoping your cousin has pulled through by the time you read this!

Leave a Reply

